We are pleased to announce the winners of a VisitAble townhouse design competition organized by the VisitAbility Project’s Ottawa Task Force.

Carleton University students were tasked with designing VisitAble townhouses as part of their fourth-year housing studio.

Congratulations to Jason Surkan and Ben Cottrill who took first prize, Sarah McIntosh who took second prize, and Quayce Thomas who received an honourable mention.

Special thanks to Professor Ben Gianni, Dean Mellway, and Roger Gervais for coordinating this activity, as well as all the students who participated.

The first prize design by Jason Surkan and Ben Cottrill, as well as the second prize design by Sarah McIntosh are available on the following links:

Jason Surkan and Ben Cottrill’s submission:

Overall Design

Basement and Ground Levels

Second and Third Levels

Sarah McIntosh’s submission:

Overall Design

AutoCAD files for each winning design are available by contacting VisitAbility@disabilitystudies.ca.

It is important to mention that the designs go beyond VisitAbility, and more towards adaptability and accessibility. As a project, we recommend the three basic features for all new builds. For reference, the following documents help explain measurement guidelines and the continuum of accessibility:

Guidelines for VisitAble Housing Measurements

The Continuum of Accessibility